Birthday 2015

Hello everyone, and welcome back into the world of the Bear Team! Today I’d like to talk about something we all have in common. Something we all experience once a year, and in some cases are lucky to even survive. It is a day that we all share, though none of us does so on the same day. I’m talking, of course, about that most American of traditions, the birthday.

On Sunday, my turn in the yearly cycle came once again. For the 39th time since I was unleashed on the world, the earth once again completed its trek around the sun and made it back to the same spot in which it stood on the day way back in 1976. Perhaps Dena and I would spend a quiet evening at home to celebrate. Nah!

My birthday celebration began at my favorite restaurant in Athens, Sr. Sol. At least I think it did. There is no way to know for sure due to the Dos Equis induced fog that hangs over the entire night. But I do know that we were there at some point; mostly because of this photo.

Ole!

After gorging on bistek ranchero, chips, and salsa with our companions for the night, my brother Matt and his significant other Amber, we returned to our house so we could put Dena’s leftover nachos (which we ended up eating for our second breakfast the next day. More on that later) in the refrigerator. I also needed to put away my gifts.

Matt and I have a long tradition of gag gifts. For his birthday I once gave him a CD which featured supreme dork John Denver singing Christmas songs with the Muppets. Before I continue, I am aware that there may be some John Denver fans out there who take offense with me calling him a dork. If so, then get the hell off of my blog!!!

Anyway, our tradition continued when I opened the first gift Matt handed me and pulled out this

Beiber

Speaking of supreme dorks!!! I laughed and put the DVD aside. Of course I’d never watch it. I would take it home and tuck it away to be chuckled at whenever I ran across it. Justin Beiber indeed! No way a metal head like me would watch something like that! It turned out to be pretty good though.

After putting my gifts in the house (in addition to the gag gift, I’d also received an awesome Atari t-shirt and a book of short stories) we headed downtown for the night. We parked in the College Avenue parking deck and made our way to the Max Canada.

We entered the bar, upon which I immediately ordered a beer. It was a practice that would continue throughout the night. We played a few games of pool as the Iron Maiden classic, and one of my favorite albums, “Killers” played over the sound system. After I’d knocked home the eight ball to win a game for the Bear Team, we went out onto the patio for a breath of air.

In addition to a lungful of air, we also got an earful due to the incredibly LOUD band playing next door. They were so loud we could barely hear each other, and then they got even louder. And they weren’t even a rock or metal band, they were playing blues and R&B songs!

Speaking of music, I’m pretty sure that I know what erstwhile punk band Rancid is up to these days. I know this because I think they were at the Max shooting pool. It was either them or a group of dudes who just really love mohawks.

Back inside we moved on to darts. We traded off winning games for the remainder of the night as the beer continued to flow. After our final game, I turned around to find something interesting written on the chalkboard where we’d been keeping score.

Teen Spirit

When last call rolled around, we left the bar and staggered walked around the corner to that most Athens of late night establishments, The Grill. As an endless procession of drag queens passed by our table (seriously!), we enjoyed either a late dinner or an early breakfast of burgers, fries with feta cheese dip, and coffee. I’m not sure what ingredient in the food it is that prevents hangovers, but whatever it is, God bless it!

We arrived home at around 3:30am and stumbled into bed. Later on I awoke, looked at the clock, saw that it was 8am, and went back to sleep. We’d made plans to go to brunch, but since we didn’t wake up until around noon, we ended up relaxing and watching a movie. I also kept an eye on the Braves game, and ended up watching the final four innings as they hung on to beat Milwaukee. Three out of four over the Brewers!

As the weekend drew to a close, I took a moment to reflect. Another birthday; the last one on which I would be thirty-something. So much had happened in the previous year; ups, and downs, and changes. I have no idea what the future holds, or which direction life may take me. But I do know that now, at this moment, I am in a good place.

As always, thanks for reading. We here at the Bear Team always appreciate it. Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Birthday 2015

Leave a Reply

