The Incredible Voyage, or Moving One Exit Down the Bypass

I’d just carried yet another batch of things into our new home. Exhausted from over a week of moving our possessions, I deposited the latest load with a sigh and put both hands on my lower back to stretch my aching muscles. Even with all I’d accomplished there was still much to do, and with a nod to Robert Frost, miles to go before I slept.

I looked around the room. All over were things I’d moved from the apartment to our new house. Though I knew we would enjoy our newest residence, the thought did little to soothe my aching body. Before heading back to the truck, I set my jaw and took a deep breath. Then I left the bedroom, walked around the corner, and found myself face to face with Cujo.

You remember Cujo, don’t you? Stephen King fans represent! For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, Cujo is a rabid St. Bernard featured in a King book of the same name.

I’d seen the big dog outside from time to time while unloading, though always at a distance. I didn’t know his name, so I’d taken to calling him Cujo. Now here I was, just across my living room from an animal big enough to carry me off in its jaws like a piece of rotten tree branch.

I stared at the dog. The dog stared back. For a long moment neither of us moved. I had no way of knowing whether or not it was friendly, but felt it wise not to take any chances. Should it be aggressive, our very first visitor in our new home might as well be a grizzly bear.

At long last, I took a step in Cujo’s direction. At this, the dog turned and trotted across the kitchen. I rounded the corner just in time to see his bushy tail disappear through the open door. Then he was gone, leaving nothing but a collection of muddy footprints in his wake.

Something unexpected always happens during a move. Fortunately this particular surprise was quite mild. But it hasn’t always been so. Often the things that catch you off guard are much more alarming. Like the time I got a job working for an engineering firm in Boise, Idaho and the movers stole all of our stuff and went to New Orleans for Mardi Gras. To make things worse, we arrived at our new house to find that the previous owners had not been joking about “taking the swimming pool, windows and doors with them” when they left. Then we met a psychotic neighbor played by Randy Quaid and my job was eliminated….

Okay, you got me. That was actually the plot from the movie “Moving,” starring Richard Pryor. But I must say that when it comes to attempting a move, whether across the country or just across town, I can definitely relate to Pryor’s luckless protagonist  Arlo Pear.

Okay, now that we’ve talked about our move (hopefully the last one for quite awhile), on to better things. We here at the Bear Team love a good horror or suspense film. We’ve spent many an evening watching killers, madmen, stalkers, monsters, zombies, and lunatics. But enough about our time living in El Cajon! We’re supposed to be talking about movies.

We recently re-watched some of our favorites from the past couple of years, including: “Sinister,” “The Purge,” “The Conjuring,” and “Chernobyl Diaries.” All of there are creepy in their own way, and you could do much worse than spending an evening being scared by them. Just don’t forget to lock the door first!

As long as we’re talking about ways to spend an evening, my brother and I went to Stegeman Coliseum this past Wednesday to watch our Georgia Bulldogs play Vermont in the National Invitation Tournament. While it isn’t the Big Dance, The NIT is still a reward for a good season, and a way to build momentum for next year.

While we attended a number of games in 2013-14, this was by far the most exciting. The crowd was the loudest of any I’ve witnessed all year. I cheered and screamedso much I could barely talk the next day. Nothing beats watching your team win, especially in a game that really means something.

That about wraps up this week’s post, for the shadows have grown long, and in the evening time, bears must go hunting for dinner. Thanks for reading. We always appreciate it. And remember, the next time you move, and you’re carrying your things into your new home, don’t forget to close the door behind you. A killer could be lurking outside. Or maybe just Cujo. See you next time!

 

Leave a Reply

