Valentines Day (or, admit it, you forgot, didn’t you?)

          The realization that it is February 14th has been known to inspire many diverse reactions. Some of these can be quite emotional; especially the one in which 99% of men realize that they have  once again, against all odds, forgotten Valentines Day.

            How could anyone not realize that it is Valentines Day? With the radio playing nothing but love songs (“More than words,” “You were meant for me,” and others too horrifying to even mention); endless jewelry store commercials which insinuate that any man who fails to buy his significant other diamonds is, at best, a thoughtless bastard; and stores with enough chocolate to sink an aircraft carrier, who could forget?

            We could, that’s who. Men are notorious for forgetting, especially when it comes to important dates: birthdays, anniversaries, etc. I’m not sure what it is in a man’s brain that allows him to remember who played second base for the Atlanta Braves during the 1987 season (Glenn Hubbard), but not his wife’s birthday. Quite the mystery…

            Fortunately for me, I did not forget Valentines Day, 2013. In fact, for once, I was all over it; securing a gift, card, and dinner reservation in advance. This approach to Valentines Day stood in stark contrast to my usual method: sprinting into any store that happens to be open at 11:00 PM on February 13th in a complete panic, and scurrying around like a mouse trapped in a maze in a vain effort to buy something, in fact anything, which is still available.

            My first stop was Kay Jewelers, where I once again displayed my utter and complete lack of knowledge about jewelry in the attempt to buy Dena a gift. I looked at nearly every piece in the store, some of which, given the price, were apparently handcrafted from extraterrestrial materials by a legendary team of jewelers who, like Hattori Hanzo http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OaIUh-QC7aY , broke a solemn vow to never make necklaces again. Finally, I settled on a diamond pendant. But it was an awesome one! It was, without a doubt one of the finest gifts I’d ever picked out on my own. Score!

            After picking up a card, I began searching for restaurants. I checked websites, talked to friends, and made lots of phone calls before finally settling on Candelas on the Bay on the island of Coronado. I made a reservation for the day after Valentines Day (due to work schedules, we decided to celebrate on Friday). Satisfied with my work, I relaxed and awaited the big day.

            The holiday rapidly approached, heralded by terrible music everywhere I turned. Love songs, breakup songs, and everything in between blared from every speaker. By far the worst of all these songs is the Celine Dion travesty “My Heart Will Go on.” I hate this song on a level that can’t be expressed in words. I sometimes wish that Dion had gone down with the ship. No doubt she would’ve warbled on even as she sank into the icy depths. Wouldn’t that have been great?

            On the day before Valentines Day a friend told me that there was a ferry which ran from San Diego to Coronado. I immediately made some calls to arrange for Dena and I to take the ferry on Friday. It seemed easy enough. We would simply arrive at the dock fifteen minutes before departure, park, buy tickets, and enjoy the ride. Anyone who knows me can guess that it wasn’t nearly that easy.

            Everything went okay until we reached Harbor Drive, where the parking lot was supposed to be located. Due to road construction, we were forced to circle around to Pacific Avenue to reach the lot. That was fine, except for the fact that we now had just five minutes to reach the ferry, buy tickets, and board. Needless to say, there was running involved.

            We made it with seconds to spare and boarded the ferry. The boat pulled away from the dock and headed into the harbor. As we moved away from land, we were treated to incredible views of the skyline. San Diego is such a beautiful city, you can’t help but be taken in by it. I would highly recommend the ferry to anyone who has occasion to visit. http://www.sdhe.com/san-diego-bay-ferry.html

            Upon arriving on Coronado, we took a walk around the island. For sheer beauty, no other area can compare. Soon it was time for dinner, and we headed to Candelas. We were seated on the patio, which offered an awesome view of San Diego. The food was unbelievable. The guacamole appetizer was delicious, and our entrees, filet migon with stuffed peppers for me and mahi-mahi with vegetables for Dena were even better. http://candelas-sd.com/newsite012/?doing_wp_cron=1361169835.0425069332122802734375

            Back on the mainland, we drove back to our apartment and enjoyed the rest of the evening at home. Dena loved her gift, and things were good. The next day was Saturday, and I settled in to watch the Georgia-Mississippi basketball game. Being on the road, I didn’t expect UGA to get more calls, but that being said, the officiating was ridiculous. Georgia was ripped off at every turn en route to a loss to Ole Miss, despite 17 points from Kentavious Caldwell-Pope and 13 from freshman Kenny Gaines.

            So on to this week’s top ten list. Today’s topic: worst songs of all time. For my list, I’ve elected to go with songs released during my lifetime. Some of them are love songs, but not all. With so many bad ones out there, narrowing it down wasn’t easy, but I’ve done my best. Without further ado, here they are:

  1. My Heart Will Go On: Celine Dion
  2. Big Country: Big Country
  3. Only Want to be with You: Hootie and the Blowfish
  4. When a Man Loves a Woman, or any song by: Michael Bolton
  5. Bent: Matchbox Twenty
  6. Hey ya: Outcast
  7. Achy Breaky Heart: Billy Ray Cyrus
  8. Butterfly: Crazy Town
  9. I Would do Anything for Love: Meat Loaf
  10.  Truly, Madly, Deeply: Savage Garden

There you go: enough bad songs to stick in your head forever. Feel free to mention your own least favorites in the comments below. As always, thanks for reading. See you next time.

 

           

Leave a Reply

