Super Sunday

Another Super Bowl Sunday has come and gone. In the wake of this passing giant, let us take a look back at the week leading up to this most earth shattering of events. Actually, most of you don’t remember the week leading up to it. In fact, you probably don’t even remember the the game itself after consuming enough alcohol and junk food to sink an aircraft carrier. But then, gluttoney is the American way.

            My week began with congestion. Not the traffic sort, mind you, but the kind that makes you want to rip out your esophagus in order to open breathing passages. To say that I woke up on Monday feelling like death warmed over would be a gross exaggeration. I actually felt much worse. My infirmity continued for much of the week, until I was able to cure myself using the medicines of my people: Cambells soup, Dayquil, and Sprite. http://www.southparkstudios.com/clips/104245/free-blankets

            Feeling better at last, I turned my attention to finding a parking space. Have I mentioned how difficult it is to find parking in our neighborhood? We don’t have a reserved space, and if we arrive home after dark, our prospects are a longshot at best. In fact much of my waking life now centers around finding acceptible parking. When it comes to attempting to fit your car into a small space, local law enforcement apparently operates under the assumption that a millimeter might as well be a mile. Or so I’ve judged from all the parking tickets I see wedged under the windshield wipers of cars in the area.

            Changing the subject, did anyone see whether or not the groundhog saw it’s shadow? How many more weeks of winter can we expect? Do you think it will be an early spring? Personally, I’m predicting that spring will begin on March 21st. If you have any problems with that, just talk to my old pal Bill Murray. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Bd1hqHrUPU

When Sunday finally arrived I settled in for the game; if you can call driving around my neighborhood in increasingly desperate circles looking for parking “settling in.” I made it inside just in time to catch the halftime show, which featured  “Beyonce” and proved once and for all that halftime of the Super Bowl is a wonderful excuse to go to the bathroom.

            When the game finally resumed, I found myself without a team to pull for. Neither the San Fransisco (how did we get here anyway?) 49’ers nor the Baltimore (seriously, Ray Lewis still plays for us!) Ravens did much to inspire a rooting interest. I ended up rooting for overtime, which has yet to make an appearance at a Super Bowl. Once again I came close to my wish, but was denied when 49’er quarterback Collin Kaepernick threw a two-point conversion pass attempt to no one in particular. Oh well, maybe next year.

            Speaking of the Super Bowl, let us move on to this week’s top ten list. Today’s topic: my top ten favorite Super Bowls. As usual, I present the games in no particular order. Here they are.

  1. Super Bowl XX: Chicago 46  New England 10. (I include this one because it was the first Super Bowl I ever watched. Plus, who wouldn’t want one more excuse to watch the Super Bowl Shuffle?) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2B74ii2F0Bw
  2. Super Bowl XXXII: Denver 31  Green Bay 24. Elway finally exorcises the Demons. This one’s for you, Joe.
  3. Super Bowl XXV: New York Giants 20  Buffalo 19. After years of blowouts, finally a tight one.
  4. Super Bowl XXXIII: San Fransisco 20  Cincinnati 16. Joe Montana comes through in the clutch. This one was brought home for me by the fact that my dad and I had passed through Cincinatti the week before. For the first time, it all felt real to me.
  5. Super Bowl XLIII: Pittsburgh 27  Arizona 23.
  6. Super Bowl XXXIV: St. Louis 23  Tennessee 16. Titans come up one yard short.
  7. Super Bowl XXXI: Green Bay 35  New England 21.
  8. Super Bowl XXXVIII: New England 32  Carolina 29. Back and forth. Vinatieri wins it for the Patriots.
  9. Super Bowl XXI: New York Giants 39  Denver 20.
  10.  Super Bowl XLVII: Baltimore Ravens 34 San Fransisco 31. This most recent installment held my attention the whole way. A classic NFL championship game.

So there you have it, my favorite Super Bowls, for what its worth. Who knows what could happen next year? Maybe my Atlanta Falcons could even be in the game! Then again, probably not. Oh well, you can’t say I’m not a loyal fan. I hope everyone has a great week, and as always, thanks for reading. See you next time, or something similar.

Leave a Reply

